chestbackchickadeeresize.jpg

This is a tiny Chestnut-Backed Chickadee eating at a tube feeder. Chickadees’ favorite feeder foods are black-oil sunflower seed, suet, hulled peanuts, hulled sunflower, peanut butter mixes, and safflower seed.

Chestnut-Backed Chickadees are bold, active birds calling frequently to fellow flock members, curiously investigating their environment, and performing amazing acrobatics on all kinds of feeders. Their legs are particularly long and strong for birds their size, allowing them to forage while hanging upside down.

I’m thrilled! The nest box pictured at the top of this blog is the home of baby Chestnut-Backed Chickadees. I don’t know how many baby birds there are in the bird house but I hear them chirping when I’m in the backyard and I see parent chickadees darting in and out. This is the second year that chickadees have raised their young in this nest box. Unfortunately, this isn’t a box with a removable side so I can’t peek in at the baby birds.