I counted the birds in my yard today for the Great Backyard Bird Count. The temperature was 48 degrees F at 9:45 am when I started observing and counting.

Today I saw an Allen’s Hummingbird. This species of hummingbird is found along the California coast during its breeding sesason and during the summer. While I see Anna’s Hummingbirds nearly everyday, seeing an Allen’s Humming bird is a rare occurance. I was excited to see another species during my count.

Record ID: S9945945
Observation Date : FEB 20, 2012
Start Time: 9:45 AM
Total Birding Time: 30 minutes
Party Size: 1
Skill: excellent
Weather: excellent
Snow Depth: No snow was present

Nearby Habitat(s):
deciduous woods
coniferous woods
grassland
suburban

Number of Species: 16
All Reported: yes

Checklist:
Turkey Vulture – 1
Mourning Dove – 4
Anna’s Hummingbird – 1
Allen’s Hummingbird – 1
Steller’s Jay – 1
Western Scrub-Jay – 2
Chestnut-backed Chickadee – 1
Oak Titmouse – 1
White-breasted Nuthatch – 1
California Towhee – 2
White-crowned Sparrow – 1
Golden-crowned Sparrow – 5
Dark-eyed Junco (Oregon) – 4
House Finch – 6
Lesser Goldfinch – 2
American Goldfinch – 1

